Some of the most important and well-respected individuals in Buffalo’s public service, law enforcement and media communities came together to celebrate the 12th Annual Medaille College Media Awards on March 21, 2016. The ceremony honors individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the College’s communication program and community, and to extend special thanks to everyone who has helped make the program a success.


Medaille Award Recipients 2016

Excellence in Marketing/Social Media 
Jonathan Gill ’07
Vice President of Marketing Communications
Marketing Technologies of WNY

Print Journalist of the Year 
Stephen Watson
The Buffalo News

Radio Personality of the Year 
Yasmin Young
WBLK Radio (TownSquare Media)

Excellence in Communications 
Michael DeGeorge
Director of Communications
City of Buffalo

Excellence in Public Relations 
Dawn Cwierley
Manager of Public Relations
Kenmore Mercy Hospital

Lifetime Achievement Award in Television Broadcasting
Stu Boyar
Reporter/Anchor/Photographer, WGRZ-TV

Lifetime Achievement Award in Television Broadcasting 
Nancy Sanders
News 4 Operations Manager, WIVB-TV

Excellence in Television Sports Reporting/Anchor
Jon Scott
Sports Reporter/Anchor, Time Warner Cable News

Excellence in Television News Reporting
Cierra Johnson
Reporter, WKBW-TV

Excellence in Television News Reporting
Angela Christoforos
Reporter, WIVB-TV

Television Anchor of the Year
Nalina Shapiro
Anchor, WIVB-TV

Lifetime Achievement Award in Law Enforcement
Detective Jack Graham
Erie County Sheriff’s Office

Lifetime Achievement Award in Law Enforcement/Community Service
Lt. Steven Nichols
Buffalo Police Department

Judicial Law Man of the Year
Hon. Robert T. Russell, Jr.
City Court Judge
Buffalo City Court, Erie County

Judicial Law Lifetime Achievement Award/Community Service
Hon. Craig D. Hannah
City Court Judge
Buffalo City Court, Erie County

Business Philanthropist and Businessman of the Year
Russell J. Salvatore
Owner and Restaurateur
Russell’s Steaks, Chops and More; Salvatore’s Grand Hotel

Alumni of the Year
James Witherow ’09, ’11
Sports Information Officer
Medaille College

Appreciation Award
Medaille College IT Department

News Category

Posted by: